You Say Potatoe, I Say Potato

Potatoes are the number one vegetable crop in the world . However, this is mostly due in part because they are eaten in the form of greasy French fries or potato chips. And even when in baked potato form, people will  often pile them with butter, sour cream, cheese, or bacon. Those aren’t the ideal way to eat this healthful, low-calorie, and high fiber food that offers a surprising amount of protection against cardiovascular disease and cancer.

My parent’s have a flipping sweet garden in our backyard that is pretty much a miniature farmer’s market. I love going home and digging out my own potatoes from our garden.

The potatoes just hanging out by their mama plant.

My favorite way to eat potatoes are potatoe salad style, with a pass on the mayo, thanks. I bring a large pot of water to a boil, add the taters and cook them until their tender, but still firm, usually 15 minutes. Then drain, cool, and chop (I keep the skin on).  For dressing, the simpler, the better. I combine the potatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper, and whatever spice I’m feeling,  but I typically keep it to just one. I’ve used basil, tarragon, and rosemary before and they all taste great.   

Did you know?:  Potatoes are an awesome source of vitamin C, vitamin B6, copper, potassium, manganese, and dietary fiber. They also contain a variety of phytonutrients that have antioxidant activity.

Do you dig potatoes? Haha 🙂

P & L,

Mem

4 responses to “You Say Potatoe, I Say Potato

  1. Morgan McStravick

    Loving your cheesiness with the pun! hahaha

  2. This sounds so delicious! Can’t wait to try!

Leave a Reply

