Mmm…Dark Chocolate

Thank goodness my diet allows me to indulge in dark flipping chocolate. I rarely go a week without it. I like it best when I’m drinking coffee, espresso, or red red wine. I don’t know why but I feel super chic and it makes it all the more enjoyable (as if dark chocolate needs any help). I like it really dark, I’m talking 85 percent and up, and I’m picky about the brand too because I like to play it safe, so I always buy organic bars. My faaaaavorite is Green and Blacks because it is pretty much awesome all around. Green and Blacks’ is extra incredible because they use  only the best organic ingredients (organically grown Trinitario cocoa beans – hello Dominican Republic and Belize!) and the bars are ethically sourced – aka environmentally friendly.

My boyfriend

Did you know?:

Cocoa butter melts at slightly below normal body temperature, which is why chocolate will melt in your mouth; a cocoa pod contains around 40 to 45 cocoa beans, so it takes from 135 to 270 cocoa beans to make one pound of chocolate; dark chocolate contains serotonin – a natural mood-boosting anti-depressant; it lowers blood pressure and bad cholesterol (LDL), annndd individuals who eat dark chocolate every single day are the happiest 🙂 . (I totally just made that last one up, but I bet it’s true).

Tell me, do you love dark chocolate as much as me? What’s your cocoa content?
P & L,

Mem

5 responses to “Mmm…Dark Chocolate

  1. I eat cocoa in one form or another nearly every day 🙂
    I do luv it dark, too 🙂
    Mostly I use unsweetened cocoa powder mixed into yogurt,gf pancakes, or atop Chex cereal. I sweeten it with stevia 🙂

    • Couldn’t agree more Heather! I actually just had a snack of greek yogurt mixed with sliced mango, almonds, and mixed with cocoa powder AND some organic chocolate soy protein powder to bulk it up (going to the gym soon :)). Have you ever had? SO fabulous and really terrific for you. I use the “Full Circle” brand. It’s loaded with vitamins, protein, and yumminess. It’s certified “vegan ultimate organics.” So fab!

  2. I’m so in love with dark chocolate, I can’t even begin to tell you how much. Dark chocolate with raspberries, dark chocolate with lavender, dark chocolate with coconut. It’s enough to make me drool, just thinking about it!

    • Oh, I hear you! Dark chocolate is so incredibly fabulous in any form – solid or melted, and on anything – fruit, yogurt, dipped in almond butter, etc! Whole Foods has a great selection of organic flavors and bars. I actually just recently had a lavender infused dark chocolate bar…it was miraculous! Like a lullaby that put me in a dreamy state of mind 🙂 And you don’t even want to get me started with my passion for dark chocolate and coconut!

  3. Pingback: It’s hard being as hungry as me, but somebody’s got to do it « I'm Allergic

Leave a Reply

