New Favorite Bar

Happy Monday!

I enjoy my internship thoroughly, I really do. But, seriously, some days it’s complete chaos. Today being one of those flipping days. These ladies had me running allll over the city (in flats mind you :)), all over the office (think fax/copy/mail/call/ah!/ etc.) I’m tired now and was definitely feeling fatigue setting in at 3pm and needed to be re-energized.

I don’t like to drink coffee as a pick-me-up because it usually just makes me feel more tired. So I always try and pack the perfect snack to do the trick. Since becoming sensitive to gluten, I’m really trying hard to stay away from it completely because it just makes me feel ugggh. So I was very pleased to stumble upon the Pure Bar in Trader Joes the other day. Let me explain why this bar is perfect:  Zero preservatives, zero refined sugars, gluten-free, certified vegan, and certified raw (aka, they are cold-processed) and contain super amounts of all the vital antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals that sleepy girls like me need at 3pm.

These little babies contain 4 grams of fiber, 7 grams of protein, 400mg Omega-3s, AND are the equivalent of 1.5 servings of fruit. Craziness. They’ve got six flavors, but so far I’ve only tried chocolate brownie (duh) and cherry cashew. Both tasting A-maaazing and deliver a serious dose of energy. I can’t wait to try wild blueberry! Yum!

Point here, food allergies/sensitivities or not, these bars rock.

Have you tried them? Did you like them?

P & L,

Mem

10 responses to “New Favorite Bar

  1. There is protein bar nutrition comparison chart on http://www.wellnessfoods.ca, you can see how all the top brands match up.

    • Hey Cathy! Just checked out the site! Thanks so much for sharing. Need to get my hands on The Simply Bar asap! I’m telling all my food-allergy friends 🙂

    • Btw, the nutritional stats are out of this world! 17 grams of delicious protein will make my sweat sessions all the more bearable. 20% DV Iron AND 90mg of potassium. Amazing.

  2. I’ve not tried those! Oh, I think I must 😉
    I just got a ton of Larabars for Mother’s Day, so perhaps I’ll wait until I run out of those, but these are DEFINITELY on my wish list!
    Hmmm…my birthday’s next month…how convenient!

    • What a great Mother’s Day present! Larabars are great! Perfect pick-me-ups too! I think my favorite flavors are cocoa mole, cinnamon roll, and coconut cream pie (duh!). They just got a new tropical fruit tart flavor that I cannot wait to try! So summery! What are your favorites? Have you tried the “Jocalat” or “JamFrakas” bars from the company? I haven’t, but I’ve always wanted to. But you MUST definitely try out The Pure bar! So great. You will love! 🙂

  3. Yup-I’ve had the Jocolat Larabars….the coffee flavor, and oh my. It is very potent. It gave me the jitters-and I’m a cofee drinker, so I wasn’t expecting that!
    It was goooooooood though!

  4. They are great!!! I just tried them too. I’m not allergic or anything but I’m trying to eat organic and less processed now so I found them at TJ’s too. I am going to talk about this in my blog someday!!
    I found your blog through Veronica’s FB page.

    • Hi Dariela!

      Thanks so much for checking out my blog! Yes, I agree, these little gems are great and perfect for a snack or a quick pick-me-up in a pinch! What have your favorite flavors been? Have you tried any other great allergy-friendly bars? Eating organic and nixing processed foods really is just better for your health overall. Kudos to you for doing so on your own self-will! 🙂

  5. I just tried the 2 you did cause they don’t have anymore at TJs. As for other bars I’ve tried, I like LARA bars, I think they are all natural, I’m not sure if they are organic but no processed or funny ingredients!

Leave a Reply

