I am the Salad-Making Queen

Okay, so I hate to brag and all, but I’m kind of big deal in the salad-making department. They are my go-to-meal with all my crazy food allergies/sensitivities/intolerances, so I rely on them. And let me tell you, if you think salads are boring, think again. You can turn those leafy greens into all sorts of amazing main meals or sweet sides. I usually have a salad at least once a day. I’ll be posting a lot of them, and be prepared because they are crazy amazing. So be excited! I was originally going to tell you all about my high-enzyme diet first, before going even deeper into the kitchen of Marisa, but I think I’ll save that til this weekend when I go home for Mother’s Day

The other night I made this yummy and super nutritious-filled salad and loved it so much that last night I made it for me and a friend, but with some variations. I took a picture the first time I made it because it was just so flipping good. I even pulled out the barbie camera! I like to make them equally as beautiful as they are good 🙂 

 

  

Mmmmm

Take one.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Close up.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Side view, because lets be honest, it deserves three photos.
 
Anyway, I rarely use anything but organic baby spinach, and take my word, if using spinach, buy ORGANIC. Allergies or not, it’s the safest thing for you. I topped dem baby greens with beets (organic), blackberries (organic), cherry tomatoes (organic), baby portabella mushrooms (organic), crumbled goat cheese (lactose friendly!), and some whole raw almonds. However, las night, I also included some snap peas (just the pea), and I used soy nuts instead of almonds. I really can’t do dressing in bottle form and its way cheaper (and I think healthier) for me to make my own. But, I usually just use olive oil, salsa, or yes, you guessed it, some raw honey drizzled on top 🙂 I used olive oil for this. I want to try grapeseed because I hear it’s great.
     Yesterday we had the salad, some wild caught salmon marinated in sesame oil, Marisa-friendly-soy sauce, and fennel, as well as some kick-ass quinoa, which I kept simple in olive oil and basil. Oh and there  may have been a glass or two of organic and sulfite-free wine 😉
 
Doesn’t this salad look good? What do you put in your salads?
 
P & L,
Mem

 

8 responses to “I am the Salad-Making Queen

  1. Ooooh yes, that looks good. Not many people like beets, but I sure do-ESPECIALLY pickled 🙂
    I love every kind of veggie on my salads, some avocado, and usually a few nuts work as well, sometimes a raisin or two might show up and that’s cool!
    I’m not big on salad dressings, but I do like to use salsa 🙂

    • Hi Heather! 🙂 I so agree with you on the avocado/nut combination. I love it! Raisins are also a tasty addition too. And salsa is the best. I remember being so happy when I first thought to use it that I forget it’s atypical when I go out. Haha, my friends are always just like, “Oh, Marisa.” But then they try it, and they love it!

  2. There is nothing like a good berry in a salad!!!! Also i’ve been trying to get myself into eating more raw onion. So far it’s my fave in a spinach salad with some dried cranberries and walnuts.

    • Oooh that sounds good! It depends on my mood in regards to raw onion, although I’ve read several sources that raw red onion is so so good for you. I love how that combo of cranberries (sulfite free!), walnuts, and onion on some baby greens sounds. Will try for sure! I often add mango to my salads too…I think that or some baby tangerines would be great in that combo as well 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Ashley!

  3. I just made the most divine side salad, so I thought I’d share…I started with THREE different lettuces from the McStravick garden, topped it with some radishes (also compliments of the ‘rents garden), raw onion slices, hard boiled egg, and a handful of chickpeas. I seasoned that sucker with some pepper and sea salt, and then gave it a little toss in olive oil and like magic I stole your throne and became the salad making queen! jk =) Anyway, here is that chili recipe I mentioned. AWESOME in the crock pot: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/West-Texas-Style-Buffalo-Chili/Detail.aspx

    • Loving that you are getting your veggies from a garden! Hpw very eco-friendly of you 🙂 Loving the salad too. Hard boiled eggs are a no-fail salad topper. Um, I cannot wait to try this chili recipe with some bison. Yay 🙂 Thanks for sharing M2!

  4. Here’s a nice salad suggested to me by my Parisian ‘friend’. Chop up some avocado (lots) and cucumbers (lots, again) and some plum or heirloom tomatoes, and a bit of thinly sliced red onion. Pour a generous amount of good quality olive oil and some balsamic vinegar, and a bit of tarragon. Its best if it has some time to marinate in those goodies. Then eat it just like that or use it as a topper on some fresh lettuce greens or beet greens! Awesome!!

    • Mmm…that sounds really lovely and so summery. Love the tarragon idea! And I never thought about marinating for a salad, such a great idea! I must try that very soon…perhaps tonight! 🙂 Thanks for sharing Barbie!

Leave a Reply

