Mmm…another perfect snack

Yummm.

It was another long day…let’s just say there were tears involved. Thank heavens my apartment (which I deem the purple palace – lots’ of purple walls!) has an outdoor balcony which I adore. I took my tired little self up there and enjoyed a snack on the deck!

I usually make everything I eat because I have to be soooo careful not to eat anything that I’ll have an allergic reaction to. However, I have found a few amazing prepackaged foods that are all natural and perservative-free; making my life so much easier on days like today. Although chips shouldn’t be a daily indulgence, when I do get a craving, Garden of Eatin’ chips are great! Garden of Eatin’ uses organic crops for their chippies with zero pesticides or synthetic fertilizers! They sell over 15 varieties of organic, all-natural, yummy chips. My favorites are the everything with flaxseed or the multigrain with sea salt! Also Muir Glen makes outstanding jarred salsa that is completely USDA certified organic. I mashed up half an avocado, mixed in some salsa, and topped it with a dollop of what else, but greek yogurt. If I wouldn’t have been so beat, I would have made some homemade guacamole. My favorite recipe below from Muir Glen’s site! Definitely check it out and read up o n “why go organic” 🙂 http://www.muirglen.com/organic/default.aspx

Salsa Guacamole  (makes a lot!)

Ingredients

Salsa
1 can (14.5 oz.) of Muir Glen organic fire roasted or plain diced tomatoes, well drained
1/4 cup chopped onion
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
1/4 teaspoon coarse (kosher or sea) salt
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 small fresh jalapeño chile, seeded, finely chopped
Guacamole (ifff you can handle it – not me!)
3 ripe large avocados (about 1 1/2 lb) pitted, peeled
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1/2 teaspoon coarse (kosher or sea) salt
1/2 teaspoon red pepper sauce
1 clove garlic, finely chopped

Preparation Directions

1. In medium bowl, mix salsa ingredients.
2. In another medium bowl, place avocados; coarsely mash. Stir in remaining guacamole ingredients.
3. Spoon guacamole into shallow serving bowl; top with salsa. Serve with tortilla chips as desired and most definitely sit on a rooftop 🙂
 

Did you know?: 

Look for avocados that are firm, but still gentle to pressure to check their ripeness. If not, place them in a paper bag and let them ripen at room temperature (I keep em’ on my counter).

What’s your favorite dip recipe?

P & L,

Mem

6 responses to “Mmm…another perfect snack

  1. Haas avacodas are always perfectly ripe; cut them in half, remove the pit, and just eat it with a spoon!
    Love your blog!

  2. hey marisa-
    just found your blog! while i’m not technically “allergic” to anything, i am HIGHLY intolerant to dairy, gluten, eggs, and casein.
    i feel your pain, sista!
    anyway, i love this avocado salsa combo and actually did it today! and yesterday.

    • Hi Heather! So glad you liked the snack – so yummy and refreshing, right? Food allergies are no fun! Same on my end…lactose intolerant and sensitive to gluten (but I love carbs!). I actually just found this site, http://www.elanaspantry.com/ where food writer, Elana Amsterdam shares some tasty looking gluten-free recipes. I’m definitely going to try some. Do you eat ezekiel bread? I think it’s the best. Talk to me about casein? I’m not familiar.

      Thanks for commenting, hopefully you’ll find some other ideas you like just as much! 😉

  3. hey Marisa-casein is a protein in dairy. i knew for years i intolerant of the lactose in dairy, but didn’t know about the casein until i tried some Lactaid milk and cottage cheese. i had a horrible reaction, so off to do some googling i went!
    turns out, that even if you can digest the lactose with the aide of products like Lactaid, you can still have a reaction due to the casein.
    grrrr……
    i was so bummed, b/c i hadn’t had cottage cheese in years and was SO excited to try it. sadly there are no decent alternatives.
    i will live!
    i haven’t found any gluten free ezekial bread…..do they make some!? i used to eat it alot, but only the kind with gluten.

    • Oh my goodness, Heather! We are indeed in the same allergy-boat, however I think your diet may be even stricter than mine (I didn’t think that was possible!). It’s so hard trying to pinpoint what is wrong with you, but you’re so happy when you finally find out and can live your life! 🙂 They do make some great gluten-free ezekial bread! I buy the brand, “Food for Life.” It’s usually in the freezer aisle in most grocery stores and I keep it in my fridge. No flour or yeast, just sprouts. Sooo good for you! And great with almond butter!

Leave a Reply

