Waffles!

One thing I cannot live without is waffles! Oh my goodness, those babies are incorporated in many of my meals – breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks. Love ‘em. While there are many fabulous frozen brands out there, one of my favorite brands being Van\’s, you can have so much more fun (not to mention save a lot of money) on making your own.

I made a big batch this morning (12) to put in the freezer and last me all through my busy week. My favorite mix right now is Hodgson Mill Gluten-Free Pancake and Waffle Mix with Flaxseed. It’s wheat, dairy, and other common allergies free, but is still full of hearty whole grain sorghum (cereal crop grown for food) and brown rice. Not to forget 450mg of  heart healthy omega-3 oils too. The recipe is simple and you can get really creative with it as well. I always add a splash of pure vanilla extract, berries, or dark cocoa powder (or all three :) ).

Store em’ in your freezer and slather them with some almond butter, greek yogurt, or pure maple syrup. Mmmm.

Love waffles too? Any great recipes?

P & L,

Mem

11 responses to “Waffles!

  1. Morgan McStravick

    Love you & your waffle-making-ness!

    xoxo

  2. Molllllllllllly McStravick

    Can’t wait to make these!

  3. Adding Greek yogurt is a great idea! For a not as healthy but delicious alternative, I like to spread a little Nutella on mine :)

  4. What about the classic carnival treat!!! Icecream waffle sandwich! You could use lactose free icecream or organic sorbet. Yummy!

  5. Don’t forget to think out of the box when using your waffles as the base for hearty sandwiches, and toasted and cut up as croutons on a big green salad!

  6. Try the Gluten Free Dreams mix from Cherrybrook Kitchen. so far it’s the closest to that I am use to. Light and Airy!

  7. Hey – you know you can’t have Maple syrup, right? I use Agave and cinnamon!

Leave a Reply

