GF beer and pizza just go together

Happy Summer! My super adorable friend Sam (who also has a gluten allergy!) and I celebrated the coming of summer yesterday with a pizza party! It’s great having a close friend with similar allergies because I’m usually the one eating something different from everyone else, so it’s wonderful to share a super yummy meal with someone who eats what you do! 

We devoured a thin crust pizza topped with fresh mozzarella, homemade tomato sauce (kudos to Sam’s momma!), and sliced tomato. Sam picked up the gf, organic thin crust pizza dough from Jules in Doylestown, but they have several locations. It was fantastic. I have a cute little pizza stone that made magic happen in the oven. 

While that did it’s thing in the oven, we had some organic baby spinach leaves topped with cherry tomatoes, avocado, cucumber, sugar snap peas, and soy nuts. We dressed our salad in toasted sesame oil because we are both addicted

Fresh.

Once our pizza was out of the oven and cooled down (longest ten minutes of my life!), we poured ourselves some gf, all natural beer (we split two bottles of Redbridge and a bottle of Sprecher -> fire-brewed, African-style, btw). Those were obviously delicious. 

Redbridge you make me happy.

My fav girl looking fly and happy.

Our pizza didn’t disappoint us either… 

Okay, so perhaps not the prettiest pizza pie you've ever seen, but it was delish.

Super thin and super crispy.

Did I mention all this fabulousness happened on my deck with the sun on our backs? Yes, it was perfection. Have you ever had these gf beers? Do you notice any taste-difference from regular brews? And talk to me about pizza! You love? 

P & L, 

Mem

5 responses to “GF beer and pizza just go together

  1. You seriously just got me craving Florence pizza after reading that! The mozzarella circles look just like they did when I was in Florence last year – YUM!

  2. Hi there – I was diagnosed with a sulfite allergy about two years ago and was really excited to see your blog. However, I am really confused after reading it. In the few entries I read, every one of them included foods that have sulfites in them that you are more or less recommending. The things I noticed that definitely have sulfites are eggs, soy, cheese, cream cheese, coconut, tortilla chips and onions (that one was from your picture at the top. The things that likely have sulfites are pizza crust (dough conditioners), sugar (if made from beets), vanilla extract (almost all of the alcohol based ones have sulfites, even the organic), beer (through either sulfites itself or more likely caramel color – which does NOT have to be listed in the ingredients). There was not one thing that you have in any of the most recent 5 or 6 entries that I could come close to eating. Is your allergy only to artificial preservatives? Or is your blog really focused on people who generally have allergies, but not sulfite allergies? Thanks!

    • Hi Tracy! Sorry for the delayed response! Wow, you just helped me out in more ways than you can imagine. As I’m sure you know, food allergies can often be really hard to diagnose…first I was just lactose intolerant, then I had crohns disease, then celiacs, etc. Finally they found sulfite antibodies in my urine, so I was labeled with a sulfite allergy. My GI doctor gave me a list of foods to avoid (most of them being preservatives or food with preservatives in them) and I felt a lot better, for the most part. However, not completely and I still found myself getting sick but in a way that was different than when I consumed sulfites/preservatives…after two tests for Celiac’s disease (both came back negative, which is pretty usual), it was determined that I am also hypersensitive to gluten.
      Now to your post, I think the amount of sulfites is really what triggers how bad my reaction is…if it’s trace amount I may feel off, or my stomach will become descended, or I’ll get a headache, etc…I truly had no idea eggs contained sulfites and I have avoided eating them as much as possible because I either blamed it on a bug or thought I just didn’t handle eggs well. I literally ate them alone the other day and felt so so ill following that. Perhaps my allergy is getting worst? I’m not sure, but I definitely notice it more now. Onions, I don’t eat that frequently, and if I do it’s a ring or two that gets mixed in my salad. Every coconut item I eat is produced containing no sulfites. I avoid any product that has sugar derived from beets on it. Most of the beer I drink (which is a new thing for me) is gluten-free and the only ones that I found that contained sulfites were the cider beers? I’ve been okay with the grass based ones…again maybe this is because I only indulge in one bottle? Not sure, but I’ve been okay with them.
      I was diagnosed with the sulfite allergy before my gluten allergy, but both are very new to me and I’m still learning a lot. I most definitely avoid preservatives and gluten in everything I eat. I’m really glad you pointed out where sulfites are hidden in other items and I will be keeping this in mind and paying closer attention to my diet because some days I really still feel off, even when I’m being really careful.
      If you wouldn’t mind helping me out some more, what are your symptoms? How were you diagnosed? What’s your diet like? Do you have any other food allergies?
      Thanks so much and I look forward to talking with you again soon!

  3. Hi Marisa – Hmmm – so much to say, where to start?? First – the sulfite allergy is so rough not only because sulfites are in so many things, but also because there is so much conflicting information out there. This is my current understanding (which fits in with what makes me sick and what doesn’t). Most foods with sulfites have them because they were added, however some have naturally occurring sulfites. The foods with naturally occurring sulfites (as near as I can tell) are eggs, soy, cheese, peanuts, coconut, pork, gelatin, onions, garlic, vinegar (except some apple cider vinegars) and possibly salmon. For the rest, there are two ways that sulfites are added – either through straight listed on the ingredients adding or through processing. It is the worst for the foods that have it added in processing, because although there can be significant sulfites in them, they are not required by law to list that. Sigh. So the bad news is – lots of food may or may not have sulfites. Welcome to health russian roulette. These foods are corn (anything but actual corn kernels are going to have sulfites – the first step in processing corn is to soak it for two days in sulfites and hot water), caramel color (avoid this at all costs), sugar made from beets, some alcohol and most shellfish. And of course, these are mostly just ingredients. The frustrating part is that when you can’t control the ingredients, you are kind of screwed. Can you have bread? Sure. Maybe. Can you have a salad? of course – without vinegar or most kinds of oil in the dressing. can you have pizza? yes – if you make your own crust and use rice cheese. Oh and no pre made tomato sauce – it surely has sugar or vinegar or corn or soybean oil. Or sulfites.

    Ok – I have suddenly rambled on quite a bit so I will share with you my symptoms in a later opus! I have quite a severe sensitivity and have been hospitalized several times because of it, so my list is extensive. I don’t have any other allergies (the gluten allergy on top of this SUCKS – I am so sorry!). More to come later……

Leave a Reply

